New England Patriots Super Bowl Champs

50th Anniversary Team To Be Honored

Week 1 of the New England Patriots’ regular season will not be your typical one; nope, not at all. That is because the team will celebrate its 50th anniversary as a professional football franchise.

As such, the Patriots will commemorate the milestone as they will honor their 50th Anniversary Team at halftime of their season opener on September 14, when they host the Buffalo Bills. This game will be one of 4 Amercian Football League Legacy Games that the Patriots will take part in this season; the Legacy Games will feature matchups between AFL teams who will honor their heritage by playing in classic throwback uniforms from the early 1960’s.

The 50th Anniversary team was unveiled last month with 12 offensive players, 12 defensive players and four special teams players; Bill Belichick was named the head coach of the team while Gino Cappelletti was delected as an honorary captain. The defensive captain appointed was recently retired linebacker Tedy Bruschi.

Below is the entire New England Patriots’ 50th Anniversary Team:

OT Bruce Armstrong
OT Matt Light
G John Hannah
G Logan Mankins
C Jon Morris
TE Ben Coates
WR Stanley Morgan
WR Troy Brown
WR Irving Fryar
QB Tom Brady
RB Jim Nance
RB Sam Cunningham

DE Julius Adams
DE Richard Seymour
DT Houston Antwine
DT Vince Wilfork
OLB Andre Tippett
OLB Mike Vrabel
ILB Steve Nelson
ILB Nick Buoniconti
CB Mike Haynes
CB Ty Law
S Fred Marion
S Rodney Harrison

K Adam Vinatieri
P Rich Camarillo
SPT Mosi Tatupu
KR/PR Kevin Faulk

WR/K Gino Cappelletti

LB Tedy Bruschi

Bill Belichick




Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Patriots Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply